Website Page_[7649]_488_0_0Great Britain has qualified as one of the ten teams that will participate in the Wheelchair Curling Competition at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, 7-16 March 2014. 

Russia, as host, receives an automatic entry with the remaining 9 places offered to the 9 National Paralympic Committees of the Member Associations of the World Curling Federation who have gained the most qualifying points from the World Wheelchair Curling Championships held in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

Points for Great Britain have been gained by Scotland’s Wheelchair Curling Teams at the last three World Championships. In 2011 the team came home with silver medals, in 2012 they came eighth and they were sixth at this year’s World Wheelchair Curling Championship; which was held at the Sochi Ice Cube Curling Center, one of the host venues of next year’s Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Pictured: Aileen Neilson skips team Scotland at the 2013 World Wheelchair Championship.

Great Britain qualify in fifth place on 18 points. Final qualification point totals over the 2011, 2012 and 2013 World Championships are:
1.Canada 28
2.Russia 25
3.China 22
4.Sweden 18
5.Great Britain18
6.USA 17
7.Korea 17
8.Slovakia 11
9.Norway 11
10.Finland 3