Although widely expected, there was no iPhone 5 in 2011, though the company did announce the iPhone 4S.

So it was surely high time for a total revision of the iPhone, and with an Apple event taking place today, 12 September, we were expecting to see the iPhone 5 break cover.  techradar

And that’s exactly what we saw. Read on for links to all the key iPhone 5 stories.

iPhone 5 launch

A few days ago, Apple finally got round to sending journalists an invite to the launch of its new handset, with the iPhone 5 launch officially pegged for 12 September at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 1900 CEST or 1800 BST (6pm).

And then we finally got the announcement we’d been waiting for…

The iPhone 5 offers a larger screen, 4G connectivity and a slightly tweaked design. The new iPhone – the world’s thinnest smartphone at 7.6mm – is made entirely of glass and aluminium, something Apple says is “unlike anything we, or anyone in the industry, has made before.”

Read Apple announces new iPhone 5 for the full story.

iPhone 5 review

But what is the phone actually like to use? It’s the the size, design and shape that will win the most admiring glances, while the materials used keep that premium Apple feel. The screen is fantastic and iOS 6 brings with it a wealth of new features.

Check out our Hands on: iPhone 5 review for the full details.

iPhone 5 specifications

It’s the first Apple phone with 4G, it has a bigger screen than earlier versions and looks pretty much like the leaked versions we saw, and we have the full details and specs in the link below.

iPhone 5: everything you need to know

iPhone 5 release date

So you want one. When can you get one?

In the US, the iPhone 5 is coming to coming to Verizon, AT&T and Sprint, from $199-$399.

Our story Apple iPhone 5 coming to Verizon, AT&T and Sprint has everything you need to know.

In the UK, we’ve spoken to EE, Orange, T-Mobile, Vodafone, O2, Three and Virgin Mobile to get their answers.

Check out iPhone 5: when will you get it? for the UK release dates as they come in.

TechRadar has joined forces with uSwitch to bring all the latest iPhone 5 pre-order deals from all the UK networks right to your inbox. Sign up here.

iOS 6

At Apple’s WWDC 2012 event in early June we learnt a lot more about iOS 6, but there was no hardware (well, apart from new Macs). But now we have an iOS 6 release date and we’ve updated our iOS 6: everything you need to know article.

News Story by Techradar